Cannot log in to phpmyadmin (Ubuntu Server)

Hello all,

I have been following the “How to install Magento 2.3 and build a webserver” article/video course and have ran into an issue whereby I am unable to log into phpMyAdmin as “root”. I’m not at my home computer right now, but I believe the error message I get is something along the lines of:

mysql_connect(): Access denied for user ‘root’@‘localhost’ (using password: YES) / mysqli_real_connect(): (HY000/1698): Access denied for user ‘root’@’localhost

I have tried following the instructions on the “Cannot log into phpMyAdmn as root user” topic within the forums, but I don’t follow what it is I need to do command-wise. I’m very new to this so any help will be appreciated!

Hi @Philip209, welcome.

I just saw that you also left a post on the main site. I won’t bother replying to that one.

Setting the MySQL root password
The MySQL root password is set when you run this command:

sudo apt-get install mysql-server -y

And when you run this script, you’re given the option to change it again:

sudo mysql_secure_installation

So, let’s say that you did write down your password correctly. Let’s have a look at these 2 scenarios which I stumbled across by pure chance one day. I think it’s something to do with either the version of MySQL or phpMyAdmin. The default version that gets installed depends on your Web Hosts default repositories.

Scenario A: Password Strength
You’re password is correct, but phpMyAdmin simply won’t let you log in. This is a conflict between what MySQL thinks is a “secure” password and what phpMyAdmin thinks is a “secure” password. So, if MySQL says the password is good but phpMyAdmin disagrees then it won’t let you in.

In this case you should run the sudo mysql_secure_installation script again and update your password to something more secure.

Important Tip
Make sure that your MySQL root password password is:

• Longer than 16 characters
  • Contains numbers