CSV File Upload | Fake Russian Customer Accounts

Hi Craig,

I have 2 issues I really need help with.

1. Firstly, I’ve created a CSV file as per your instructions and have uploaded it successfully with no errors. The thing is, it does not show on the backend as uploaded or display on the front end. I did manage to add the products manually to test and it’s fine. But of course, I need to use the csv method since there are many products. Is this a reindexing issue?

2. In the customer section, there is a whole load of fake Russian account details. Not sure how they got there.

Any help would be great as I have limited knowledge of this. This is a Magento 2.6 site

Thanks in advance.

David

Hey David,

CSV
Reindexing wouldn’t make a difference if it’s not showing on the backend either. Unless something’s changed recently that I’m not aware of.

• What type of products are you uploading? e.g. Simple, Configurable, etc…
  • I assume you’re getting no errors on import?
  • I would also suggest going to System > Import > Entity Type: Products > Download Sample File to see if you’re missing anything obvious with the CSV format.
  • I’ll happily take a look if you want to share. I only need to see the first couple of lines.

Russian Accounts
I’ve seen this before on another Magento project. I assume the site is accessible/live where bots can crawl it? Something to do with spamming, but I’m not sure what the end goal is. Enabling Google reCaptcha for Account Registration fixed this for me. It’s not going to be featured until Magento 2.3. However, you can install it early by following these instructions. I nearly did a video on how to install it, but never got round to it. Alternatively, check if your Magento theme already comes with reCapture in its settings before going through that process.

I hope this helps in some way. Let me know how you get on.

Regards,
Craig

1 Like

Hi Craig,