Fresh Install as per video, but CPU load maxed

Good morning folks

Firstly, Thanks to Craig for the Magento 2 video, by far the best I have seen. I have been running a Magento store for around 6 years now, ranging from 1.4 - 1.9. I have tried on numerous occasion to install Magento 2. but always hit far too many issues.

I have been running it on a VPS from Heart internet (2Gb), but no soon as I find a fix for one problem, I hit another.

I have decided now is the time I must make the move so following the video I have purchased a DigitalOcean account, set up a droplet ($20/month) and installed as per the video. Initially all worked well. I was able to enter the web setup wizard and began trying to install a module. (Heart VPS kept failing at dependency check due to ram despite being set at 2G). The DO server sailed through, but still failed the install. I then noticed that during the module installation the CRON issue I had before on was still there and it was no longer completing jobs and was filling up my MySql, which crashed then it. I deleted the cron jobs, restarted the MySql, was able to access phpmyadmin and empty the cron schedule, but now apache is maxing the CPU

Where do I go from there, why? and how do i get more info on what is doing ?

I have tired rebooting the server but soon as log into magento same happens again.

Hi @Sean_Lount and welcome,

I ran into this very issue multiple times in the past. The DO Droplet you have chosen is definitely cable of the job, so you don’t have to worry about that. If memory serves, this was a result of the PHP memory_limit being bottle-necked. This can cause a multitude of issues especially when it comes to running cron tasks. I remember my cron table filling up with tens of thousands of failed requests just like you.