How often do Magento Updates like 2.3.4 occur?

I have a message on my magento admin screen informing me that Magento has had an update. My question is, roughly how often do they do updates? Im new to Magento and it doesn’t seem that long ago they did 2.3.3. I hate the updating process as im not confident command user. And i worry its going to negatively effect my extensions.

Do they happen often? if so is it worth missing an update and jumping to the next, or should i do them as they come along?

Hi,

Magento releases updates/new version every quarter.
Please check here:
https://devdocs.magento.com/release/

Ah brill, thanks. I’ll read that now. Do you update everytime or do you jump updates?

I’m still on M1 and prepering for replatforming to M2 but yes, I’m intending to upgade my Magento everytime a new version is released. Having said this I’m intending to do it but we will see how it will be in real life.

You need to remember that some of your 3rd pary modules if any migh not be compatible strat away with the newly relesed Magento. Your custom codes too.

I would test any new Magento version on your local enviroment before deploying it to production. Accualy test any changes not only new M before deploying ti to the production enviroment.

Craig will probably add some more coments to my post.

It’s always a smart thing to do the update on your development environment first. So you can test I make sure that all the third-party extensions are supported.

So… As @PawelP pointed out, a scheduled update occurs roughly every quarter (give or take). However, I believe Security Patches can be released at any time.

When an update is released, I like to give it a week or so before applying it to my Production environment. This allows any “hot-fixes” to be released incase it’s a bad update. And as @Mohamed_Suliman points out, this also allows you to test everything in your Development environment.