Redis & Magento 2

Hi Craig, hi guys,

Once I took elasticsearch off my plate and still struggling with Porto there I thought I’ll try to play and learn something new.

Craig have you got any experience with installing & configuring Redis and Magento 2.

I found some documentation on how to install it on DigOcean and other dos instructing how to configure it and secure but as we know sometimes it is not easy just to follow dos (i.e. Porto dosc :slight_smile: hahah)

Regards,
Pawel

Testing environment:
M2.3.1, Ubuntu 16.04, DigitalOcenan, many snapshots including Magento Vanilla install

Hi guys,

ZONK! :frowning: I’ve just ried to install Redis on DigOcena Ubunntu 16.04 following this instruction:

and get this warring message after running this command: make test

Please ref to the screenshot and give me a tip if you can. I’m not a programmer so please be as descriptive as you can.
redis%20-%20worrning%20during%20install

Thank you.

Pawel

I’ve done it a couple of times using the article that you linked. Each time with success. So I have never seen this error before - Or know what it means.

I Googled “make test+error defrag” and found this suggestion. If it doesn’t help, you might want to start over:

Just notice that your jemalloc version is 4.0.3, but in branch unstable we have already upgraded jemalloc to 5.0.1, please try make distclean and make to force update jemalloc and run make test. Ref

I’ve got this tutorial penciled in on my plans. So, there will be a video on this one day.

Hi Craig,

Thank you for looking at it.

I fixed it now.

I found this online run these commands and it worked.

Okay fixed it, but rebuilding and testing again shouldn’t be the fix for this :thinking: Ref

1. make clean
  2. make
  3. make test

Pawel

1 Like

FYI, a common issue that people run into after setting up Magento for Redis Sessions is running into this error